MINUTES

TRANSYLVANIA COUNTY OATH OF OFFICE CEREMONY DECEMBER 4, 2006

An oath of office ceremony for newly-elected officials was held on Monday, December 4, 2006 at 9:00 a.m. in the large courtroom of the county courthouse.

The Honorable Court Sergeant Jimmy Jones called the ceremony to order. Following the call to order, oaths of office (attachments as part of these minutes) were administered for the elected officials as listed below:

OATH OF OFFICE – C LERK OF SUPERIOR COURT AND STAFF

The Honorable Robert S. Cilley administered the oath of office to Rita Ashe, Clerk of Superior Court, to assistant clerks Sharon Hall and Lynn Rathbone, and to deputy clerks, Kristi Brown, Theresa Newman, Marsha Henderson, Barbara Powell, Rondal Chapman, Rebecca Hall, Alicia Aiken, and Pamela Hall.

<u>OATH OF OFFICE – SHERIFF, DEPUTIES, JAILERS AND TELECOMMUNICATORS</u> The Honorable Robert S. Cilley administered the oath of office to Sheriff David A. Mahoney, and then to all deputies, jailers and telecommunicators.

OATH OF OFFICE - SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT

The Honorable Robert S. Cilley administered the oath of office to Charles Bryson. (Mike Whitmire was administered the oath of office later in the day)

OATH OF OFFICE - COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

The oath of office was administered to commissioners Robert L. Bullock and Daryle B. Hogsed by the Honorable Robert S. Cilley.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS FOR BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Following the oaths to the commissioners, Artie Wilson, Interim Clerk to the Board, convened the Board of Commissioners. Present were Commissioners, Jason Chappell, David Guice, Kelvin Phillips, Lynn Bullock and Daryle Hogsed.

The clerk called for nominations for chairman.

Commissioner Hogsed nominated David Guice to serve another term as chairman of the Board of Commissioners. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Guice.

The clerk called for other nominations.

Commissioner Phillips nominated Jason Chappell to serve as chairman of the Board of Commissioners. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Bullock.

There being no other nominations, the clerk called for a vote. The vote for vice chairman was 3 to 2 in favor of Jason Chappell as chairman for 2007.

The clerk turned the meeting over to the chairman, who called for nominations for vice chairman.

Commissioner Hogsed nominated David Guice to serve as vice chairman. The Motion was seconded by Commissioner Guice.

The chairman called for other nominations.

Commissioner Chappell nominated Kelvin Phillips to serve as vice-chairman of the Board of Commissioners. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Bullock.

The vote for vice chairman was 3 to 2 in favor of Kelvin Phillips as vice chairman for 2007.

INSPECTION AND APPROVAL OF OFFICIAL BONDS

Attorney Dave Neumann stated that he has inspected the official bonds for sheriff, register of deeds, tax assessor/collector, commissioners, finance director and county manager and they are in order.

Commissioner Guice moved to approve the bonds for the elected officials, seconded by Commissioner Bullock and unanimously carried.

APPOINTMENT OF COUNTY ATTORNEY

Chairman Chappell called for nominations for county attorney.

Commissioner Guice nominated and moved the appointment of David C. Neumann to serve as county attorney, seconded by Commissioner Phillips.

There were no other nominations presented, and the vote was unanimously carried.

There being no further business, Commissioner Phillips moved to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Commissioner Bullock and unanimously carried.

The meeting adjourned at 10:30 a.m.

<u>CLOSING</u> The Honorable David A. Mahoney, Sheriff, closed the ceremony.

Jason R. Chappell, Chairman Transylvania County Board of Commissioners

ATTEST:

Artie Wilson, Interim Clerk to Board