MINUTES TRANSYLVANIA COUNTY OATH OF OFFICE CEREMONY

æ

ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS DECEMBER 1, 2014

An oath of office ceremony for newly elected officials was held on Monday, December 1, 2014 at 8:30 a.m. in the large courtroom of the Transylvania County Courthouse. There were over 150 in attendance, including media representation from *The Mountain Voice* and *The Transylvania Times*.

OPENING

The Honorable Court Sergeant Jimmy Jones opened the ceremonial court session, with the Honorable Judge Peter B. Knight presiding. The oaths of office were administered as listed below:

OATH OF OFFICE – CLERK OF SUPERIOR COURT, ASSISTANT CLERKS, and DEPUTY CLERKS

The Honorable Judge Peter B. Knight administered the oath of office to Rita A. Ashe, Clerk of Superior Court, to Assistant Clerks Kristi Brown, Rebecca Hall and Alicia Phillips, and to Deputy Clerks Denise Austin, Marsha Henderson, Shirley Meece, Melissa Moody and Theresa Newman.

<u>OATH OF OFFICE – SHERIFF, DEPUTIES, DETENTION OFFICERS, AND TELE-</u>COMMUNICATORS

The Honorable Judge Peter B. Knight administered the oath of office to Sheriff David A. Mahoney and to all deputies, detention officers, and tele-communicators in attendance.

OATH OF OFFICE - SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT

The Honorable Judge Peter B. Knight administered the oath of office to Alan Johnson (appointed) and Joffrey Merrill (elected). Bob Twomey (elected) was unable to attend and will be sworn in at a later date.

OATH OF OFFICE – TRANSYLVANIA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

The oath of office was administered to Larry Chapman and Kelvin Phillips by the Honorable Judge Peter B. Knight.

ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING – TRANSYLVANIA COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

Following the oath of office ceremony, Trisha Hogan, Clerk to the Board, convened the Board of Commissioners. Present were Larry Chapman, Jason Chappell, Mike Hawkins, Page Lemel, and Kelvin Phillips.

Nomination and Election of Chairman

The Clerk called for nominations for Chairman.

Commissioner Chapman nominated Commissioner Hawkins to serve as Chairman. Commissioner Lemel seconded the motion. Commissioner Hawkins was elected Chairman by a unanimous vote.

Nomination and Election of Vice-Chairman

The Clerk turned the meeting over to the Chairman, who called for nominations for Vice-Chairman.

Commissioner Lemel nominated Commissioner Chapman to serve as Vice-Chairman. Commissioner Chappell seconded the motion. Commissioner Chapman was elected Vice-Chairman by a unanimous vote.

Inspection and Approval of Bonds

Attorney Tony Dalton inspected the official bonds for the Sheriff, Register of Deeds, Tax Administrator, Finance Director and County Manager and reported they are in order.

Commissioner Lemel moved to approve the official bonds for the Sheriff, Register of Deeds, Tax Administrator, Finance Director, and County Manager. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Chapman and unanimously approved.

Appointment of County Attorney

Chairman called for nominations for County Attorney.

Commissioner Lemel nominated and moved to appoint Tony Dalton as County Attorney, seconded by Commissioner Phillips and unanimously approved.

Adjournment

There being no further business, Commissioner Lemel moved to adjourn the organizational meeting of the Board of Commissioners, seconded by Commissioner Chappell and unanimously carried.

The meeting adjourned at 9:00 a.m.

CLOSING

The Honorable Court Sergeant Jimmy Jones closed the ceremonial court session.

	Mike Hawkins, Chair
	Transylvania County Board of Commissioners
ATTEST:	